Focus (or Lack Thereof)

Yesterday, I wrote another 500 words on my novel. The way I did it, however, is probably not the best way I could have gone about it. At about 5:30 AM, I decided that perhaps it was time to throw in the towel and go to sleep. I realize you never know when or where inspiration will hit, but this is ridiculous!

I seem to have a hard time stopping once I get rolling on a project or idea. It was about 1 in the morning, a decent hour for me, when I decided to start mass uploading videos to youtube using the new “scheduled uploads” option they have included. It lets you upload a video and have it released on a specific day and time. I like it, but I have found in the passing days that it has not worked perfectly, and sometimes doesn’t show up in subscription boxes. There are still some bugs to iron out, so I’ll be uploading traditionally most of the time, from now on.

Because of this, I thought it also might be a good idea to go ahead and make individual thumbnails for each of the videos in photoshop. It’s a quick process, so I didn’t think it would take much time. By the time I was done with that, the inspiration for writing hit, and when all was said and done, it was 5:30 in the morning.

I find that I have a tendency to hyper-focus on certain projects, usually in the middle of the night, when I should be, and want to get, in bed. I don’t understand it. It is especially bad if it is a shorter project that I can finish relatively quickly. There is nothing more satisfying than seeing the end of a certain project. I’m sure it’s some kind of weird addiction.

That reminds me of a story about youtube… but I think that is best saved for the next post. I said I’d talk about my script this time.

My script is actually an idea I have for a comic book. I am currently in the process of reworking it into a film script for the purposes of an MFA class. The exercise is enlightening, and really teaches a lot about adaptation.

The story is about a vampire. Or rather, a not-vampire. One day I thought, “man, I really hate vampires. What if…?”

Thus, “Kyle Finnegan is Not a Vampire” was born. I wanted to make a vampire story that would appeal to someone like me, who can’t really stomach most vampire literature or film, whether it be by Stephanie Meyer or Bram Stoker. Nothing against it, I just don’t particularly like it. The result is a buddy action comedy paranormal mystery superhero story. It’s quite a mouthful. I’m still working on how to pitch the sucker to a company or agent. We’ll see how it goes. The reason I mention it is, it is another creative project I am actively working on, but unfortunately I can’t use Ommwriter for it, because I need the formatting to be automatic. It would be a nightmare to try working script format into Ommwriter. That’s all right, though, I do have scrivener.

That’s all for today.

-Yesterday’s Word Count: 561

– Allen Jenkins

2 thoughts on “Focus (or Lack Thereof)

  1. That happens me sometimes as well and I’ve found it’s best to take advantage of it. If I have an idea for a new composition, I’m apt to just drop everything and go try and make it happen before that spark leaves. At times I’ve gone from morning to night without eating or leaving one spot just creating.

Leave a Reply

